WORD COUNT: In the Eye Of The Beholder

  Word count is something I thought very little about before trying my hand at writing. It is something I now mention no fewer that 100 times a day. Trust me, I counted them. 100 plus! It has now been roughly 4 months since I was told, “You are a writer” and this journey began. Let’s do a quick word count on my story so far. 1,2,3,4, carry the one and drum roll….WORD COUNT in four months….3,000!?! Really? 3,000? Maybe I should have carried the 2? Sadly, that is about right. You see, I have something called OCD and I have tremendous difficulties when it comes to concentration and reading and writing. I have not read more than 20 pages in a novel in about a year and a half. You can go ahead and weep for me.

  I’ll read a Tweet and it will say, “Had a good day, wrote 2,300 words.” Or someone will be excited that they got 600 words and the very next Tweet will have someone almost suicidal over 600 words.

  This is not writers block? I don’t sit down at my computer and just go blank. I don’t have pen in hand staring at my notebook and think, what would my Main character say next? I mentally and physically cannot open the file to my story or I cant pick up a pen. This has happened pretty much every day for 4 months. I wrote the roughly 3,000 words on my novel in about 2 hours, if it was all condensed into a 2 hour block of brilliance. 😉 How many other hours did that leave that I could have been writing? I’ll let you figure that out and I’ll save my counting for my words, when I get to writing them. Counting my words? MY WORD!!!

  I’m not giving up. I cant give up. I’m consumed by my story. I think about it all my waking hours. I have gotten depressed. Very depressed. I never know about these mental barriers of mine. They may suddenly lift and I write the 1st draft in 3 weeks or it may take me 6 months. Make no mistake though, I’m writing this story and I think its good. Really good! So I wont stop. I will keep pushing until the dam breaks and the river is set free. Next time you are hung up on word count just remember, “3,000 in 4 months!” and maybe it wont seem so, end of the world. Who knows? I may even write 3,000 by the end of this day. Lets hope for that. 🙂 P.S.-It has taken me 3 weeks to sit down and write this little post but I did it and that’s progress.

Leave a Reply

